T-2 Days


Highlander’s oil has been changed and a new air filter.  The squirrels have decimated, chewed and brought in acorn and buried them between the filter media making a mess of things.  The cabin filter was not too bad, but yuckish.  I have never had a cabin filter before. I must be grown up now….  Maybe.

The new system for kayak and canoe carrying seemed to be working well.  No slips or rumbles, which is good.  I did a float on the Mataponi near Bowling Green a few days ago that was shall we say non eventful with respect to fishing, but interesting with what fell out of the sky and knocked my kayak off its saddles causing the kayak to scissor a bit sideways out of its saddles and simultaneously leave a stunned and maybe almost dead Turkey vulture  in the middle of the road behind me.  No lie.  I saw a flash of black and then a thud I knew I hit something.  Turning off the side of the road I reaffixed the kayak and tied it back down again.  As I was wondering why the kayak got knocked off its saddles I saw in the distance down the road I just traveled a lump of black in the middle of the lane., slowing and stopping traffic.  I thought I lost something out of the boat.  I jumped back in the SUV and noticed that it had moved off the road.  So I surmised it was nothing I left in the Pungo.  Sure enough the bird had hobbled off by the time I had gotten there.  Crazy

I have been busier than a freshman senator on the floor of the senate on his first day.  Sweating like whore in church I was able to run a boat load of errands including stopping the mail, getting step stool to carry with me so I can load and unload, strap and work on the boats when they are on the rack.  I organized, packed and repacked the plastic bins I use for trip gear.  Went grocery shopping, packed food, and actually have beverages to share.  I made reservations with IP Dillion Park in the ADK for an additional overnight in a lean2, and tried very hard to reach my first overnight location.  I packed the highlander with almost everything I will be traveling with minus the two bins and duffle that I still have on my place.  What a relief to finally pack up.  All the tent snafu’s were driving me crazy.  I thought I could fix the old one in time but after help from friend of mine and a second trip to the West End  Dicks Sporting Goods, to get another pole kit, I found a Columbia 6 man tent that I think will fit the bill just fine.  It seems like its made well with double seems and a roof vent.  Thank God.  I can’t wait to try it out Thursday night in the far East corner of PA in the Delaware Water Gap.

I have more rearranging of schedules and a changes in arrival times and a reservation to make tomorrow but all should be good to go by Thursday at 5am.  Parting this year from VA has been harder then it has in the almost two decades since I moved to Virginia.  Every year there is something major to deal with before the wheels start rolling.  Last year and the year before was major truck repairs.  This year it was a new tent and getting used to a smaller but more reliable vehicle.  I know in the end everything will turn out just great!

Tomorrow will be making sandwiches, wrapping and packing ice, food and beverages and hopefully getting a good nights sleep.  Photos will follow.

Leave a comment